When I was eleven, one of my older cousins gave me her old camera. It was a film camera and I was only given two rolls. I went through them in two days and got my film developed for free as the store owner, Mr. Sanchez, said I was too young to pay and he would do it, “free of charge.”

From then on, I was given a digital camera and took pictures at family events and friends’ parties, trying to capture rare moments in life. I spent years at other stores in my hometown, getting film developed from old cameras and editing pictures from my digital camera.

I was recently given the opportunity to take pictures for a musician who would hire myself as his personal photographer. The first person I called when I was given this opportunity to Mr. Sanchez. He said it was meant to happen and I asked if I could come back at any point in my life to develop any pictures in the future. He responded, “why yes.. free of charge.”

Leave a Reply

